Posted

print

favorite this post Home sweet home (East Madison, near Olbrich Park) hide this posting unhide

house
w/d in unit
street parking
no private bath
private room

Like living with others? Seeking cheaper rent and more community? I am looking for 1-2 roommates for my 3 bedroom, 2 bath house on the East side. Home is just around the corner from Capital City Bike trail and a bus stop and is walking distance to beach/boat rental at Olbrich Park. Atmosphere is sunny with hardwood floors, with central air and heat, plenty of garden space that you'd be welcome to share, fenced yard, more than adequate on street parking, garage for storage and laundry in the basement. I don't have cable because I don't watch much tv, but have fast high speed internet. There is a living room upstairs and an extra finished room in basement that could be used as another living room and guest room for visitors. There is also an extra oven in the basement and I'm planning on adding a refrigerator there as well. About me: 53 year old lesbian, friendly, laid back, work from home 2-3 twelve hour days as a psychiatric nurse practitioner. I don't smoke, don't do drugs of any kind (including 420) and rarely drink (defined as maybe 1 twelve ounce bottle of cider or soda once or twice a month, max). I have a two year old golden retriever who LOVES people, but being young, still occasionally counter surfs and jumps up when excited. Otherwise he's a pretty well behaved guy. I am far from being a neat freak but like to keep common areas picked up and relatively clean with the understanding that sometimes life gets busy and things may pile up just a bit. I like to read, take my dog to dog park, hike, bicycle, go out to listen to acoustic music, have friends over to cook and play cards or games, go on road trips. I try not to sweat the small stuff and to just enjoy my life--life is a beautiful thing, so I don't want to waste it! I do have a girlfriend who will be here several days per week, alternatively I may be out at her place from time to time. I sometimes travel during the winter for several weeks to months at a time. I tend to go to bed around 10 or so, get up between 7 and 8. I am fairly quiet, but don't mind some music or other activity in the house as long as it's not loud when I'm working or sleeping. And finally, I do like to keep the house on the cool side temperature wise, both winter and summer, so if you don't like air conditioning and need the heat blasting on high in winter, you probably wouldn't be very comfortable here at times. My politics are liberal and I don't take part in any type of structured religion. You: Friendly, easy going, NO DRAMA, not a super neat freak or a total slob, no drugs (even 420), social alcohol at most (if you need it or want alcohol heavily or on a daily basis, this won't be the house for you), must like and be kind to my dog, must be responsible, pay bills on time, interested in sharing a meal and/or conversation with your roomies, and willing to help with chores including house and yard work (or willing to chip in for paying someone else to do these things). Must be able to pass a background check and provide me with references and a copy of your credit report. For the larger room I have available, I'm asking $700 including all utilities and wifi. The smaller room would be $550 all included. One month rent as deposit. Month to month lease. Start date is somewhat flexible, both rooms open, but no big hurry, would be willing to wait a bit for someone who is the right fit. Pets MAY be a possibility but they'd have to be house trained, well behaved, you'd have to take good care of them and they'd have to get along FABULOUSLY with my golden (or be the type of pet that stays in your room). If you're interested, drop me a line with your email address (I've had problems with craigslist email relay when sending multiple messages back and forth) and tell me something about your self, ask any questions and if we get along in email, we can arrange to have you come see the place. If this doesn't sound like a good match, then I wish you luck in finding your space : ).
  • it's ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests

post id: 6848639504

posted:

updated:

best of [?]