favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$700 / 144ft2 - Creepy-cool dude seeks chill open minded weirdo (South side)

144ft2

dogs are OK - wooof
furnished
house
laundry in bldg
no smoking
off-street parking
no private bath
private room

Room for one. (No couples no kids, sorry)

About the house and property: I live in a 3 bedroom 1 bathroom house on the south side that is really private and out of the way. The house itself is in good shape, there’s a few quirks, but otherwise it’s definitely not a dump. The bedroom that’s available is roughly 12x12 with a bump out for the door, and it has a decent sized closet. The view from this room is of the backyard, a wilderness view, completely private. The bathroom is fairly large, but only has a stand up shower, no tub. The kitchen is big and open. There’s a smaller office room that is also available for use which I’m not renting out as a bedroom because this house wouldn’t be comfortable with 3 adults(this isn’t Mifflin street), but it’s fully available for you to use or store stuff in. The living room is already furnished with my things, but I’m willing to compromise if you have better stuff. The property the house sits on is probably a quarter acre, but it’s surrounded by trees and wild vegetation on 3/4 of it’s sides. Lots of old mature trees that bring a ton of wildlife, not a lot of visible buildings. It’s actually pretty sweet. I’m a big nature lover, and I really enjoy watching the animals do their thing. The backyard is fully fenced in, and there’s a large porch that is blocked off from view from the road by large bushes. What makes this location even better is that the two neighbors houses that are next to it are friends of mine, and their properties are the same, so it’s actually like a three-house community surrounded by trees and vegetation. We all look after each other’s houses, and the neighbors all have dogs. There’s ample parking space, and a decent garden plot +-12’x15’.

About me: I’m a big lover of animals, plants and all things wilderness. Most of my hobbies revolve around that theme. I’m a life long student of osteology, herpetology, zoology, botany, art, music, writing, poetry, building, cooking, philosophy and martial arts. I’m a bit of a Jack of all trades. I also enjoy reading, hiking, meditation, gardening, comedy, podcasts, lectures, documentaries, and really just learning about anything I can learn about. I’m not a big drinker or party animal anymore, and I’m definitely not looking for that in my life. If you’re able to conduct yourself with decency and integrity, then I don’t care what you do, but I don’t have any patience for a drunk or late night parties in my house. I’m well past those years. I am a day person, usually going to bed around 10-12. I don’t smoke cigarettes. My house is pretty chill and quiet for the most part. I have a sweet crew of animals living here. 5 snakes, 4 turtles, 3 tree frogs, 3 toads, and more fish than I can count. All of which are given the utmost respect and loving care. I’m very bonded with these guys, they’re all quite friendly and personable. My house is full of plants as well, I’ve got philodendrons growing all over the walls, and plants in almost every window. I also collect skulls, rocks, fossils, crystals and various strange antiques. I’m a fairly clean person(the kitchen is my main concern, because of food preparation and cross contamination) and keep up on house work.

About your role as a roommate: I am definitely not an insane clean freak, but there’s various things that must be done in order to maintain a respectable level of cleanliness, and to avoid any damage to the house or our stuff. It’s much easier if we divide up the responsibilities and make a list to go off of. Items like; gutter cleaning, lawn mowing, leaf pick up, dishes, vacuuming, dusting, sweep/mop, bathroom, trash out, etc. All of these are easy things, but necessary for a good home. I’m currently doing all this myself without problem, and expect it to be shared within reason.
Rent is always due at the first of the month, no exceptions. If you’re unable to come up with the rent, you probably won’t be a good fit. I need someone who can handle their end of the bargain. This obviously applies to the monthly bills, which actually aren’t that bad. About $100 a month each in the winter.

My ideal roommate would be very open minded, chill, trustworthy, respectful, possess fiscal responsibility, and be generally fun and light hearted, with a stoic mindset.

I am not in a hurry to fill this space, and I reserve the right to be selective with whom I choose. I need someone who is responsible and trustworthy, and that I vibe with. I will ask for references and proof of income. I absolutely don’t discriminate against anyone for any reason, I’m only trying to choose the best fit for my situation. All may apply.

Well trained dogs and animals in enclosures are ok, but unfortunately no cats. I love cats, but they would destroy my plants.

This is the perfect place for a chill animal lover who wants a slice of privacy and wilderness in the middle of the city.

****Serious inquiries only! If interested, please reply with “I like turtles” in the subject headline, all emails not containing this as the headline will NOT be opened and automatically deleted. To even be considered for a reply via email, I need you to reply in your email about yourself. List job(s), current monthly rent/bills you pay, if you have pets, about you and your personality. The longer and more thought out the better, be descriptive. I’m looking for someone who is cool and trustworthy. I’m willing to do my homework to find out if you’re a good fit, but it will require you to be able to spark my interest. I’m not looking for just anyone, and I’m not in a hurry. This is my sanctuary, I’m looking for someone who fits it, not the other way around. ****
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 7004007456

posted:

best of [?]